Kosher in Crownpoint, New Mexico - Kosher in Crownpoint, NM - Yellow Pages Directory Inc.
Green Yellow Pages
Find a Business Near: Crownpoint, NM                    
Enter Business Name or Keyword       Search by Phone
City, State or Zip Code      Zip code finder

Business Owner?

List Your Business »

Home ::: New Mexico ::: Crownpoint ::: Kosher

Kosher in Crownpoint


Below is a list of businesses listed within our directory. If you do not see your business within the list below, you can submit it for addition to this list. Adding your business will feature your listing above Standard listings.
   
Standard Listings

Business Listing   Bashas' - Crownpoint, NM - Phone: (505) 786-5814


   
Don't see your business here? Add it and appear here!

Helpful Definition for: Kosher


 

Kosher, in Crownpoint, is a Hebrew word meaning proper or fit. In case of food, the term denotes an item that is allowed for consuming as per the Jewish Law. There are three categories of Kosher food- Meat, Dairy & Pareve.

Meat– Only the meat of the animals that have split hooves and chewed its cud are considered to be Kosher. Examples: cow, goat, lamb, chicken, turkey, goose, and certain ducks. The Kosher-animals are slaughtered by a specialist, followed by soaking & salting of the meat according to the Jewish law.

Dairy – The Milk and milk products (cream, butter, cheese etc.) obtained from a Kosher-animal are considered to be Kosher-Dairy. This must not be consumed in combination with Kosher-meat.

Pareve – All fruits, grains and vegetables, fish having fins & scales in their natural state are Kosher-Pareve. Examples of Kosher fish are- Carp, salmon, halibut and carp. A Pareve item will become a dairy or meat item if cooked with a dairy or a meat food item.

During Passover, some grains, for example- legumes in many Jewish communities are not considered Kosher. Even the utensils to be used for preparing Kosher during Passover must be permitted by Jewish law. Utensils for storing, preparing or serving Kosher of separate categories should not be mixed up. Also, once used for preparing, storing or serving non-Kosher foods would never be used for Kosher.

AddThis Social Bookmark